Thoughts On This Special Day

Today is a very special day; it’s the day I leave my teenage years behind to approach my years as a young adult. I didn’t really feel like an “adult” when I turned 18–more like a glorified kid.

But today is different. I can no longer say, “I’m _____ years old, ” with the same effect that saying you’re a teenager does. Being 19 makes people feel a lot older than when you say you’re 20.

Despite losing the ability to make people born within my decade feel old, this day has been truly wonderful.

My birthday celebrations began with a trip to my grandparents’ house and a day spent in the absolutely gorgeous Newport, RI where we toured a mansion, went on a cliff walk, shopped downtown, and got a boat tour of the bay and harbor but not before we went to a gluten free bakery for the BEST pastries I have ever had.

This weekend was all a huge surprise planned by my sister. Gifts are one of my love languages, particularly gestures, so this was more than I could dream of. A handwritten note or thoughtful gift means so much more than the one with the biggest price tag, and boy did my sister give me such a wonderful gift!

This morning I awoke to kids screaming outside my window for their camp first day of camp. Fortunately, that was not the omen of my day. I walked in the gentle haze over to the post office to be greeted by a package from a lovely friend across the pond. My day proceeded on with happy surprises from the library having the books I wanted to a slew of camp kids singing me “Happy Birthday” on their way to the rock gym.

Some friends took me out to a joyous meal at Woodman’s in Essex where my belly was quickly filled with popcorn shrimp, fries, and coffee ice cream.

My day has been filled with precious notes, fun gifts, and yummy treats–the perfect 20th birthday.

Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. Thanks to everyone who made this day special. Thanks to everyone who helped me get to this day with a smile on my face. Thanks to everyone who has touched my heart in one way or another. May you be blessed tenfold for the blessings you have bestowed on me.

20130701-214244.jpg

Leave a Reply

