My Education: Chapter 2

This morning I dropped by my favorite music website (noisetrade) and downloaded the Sufjan Stevens sampler for his new album titles Silver and Gold. Love it! I am listening to his interesting and rather unconventional Christmas songs while I write to you all this morning.

About 2 months ago I decided to stop pursing textile schools. I didn’t feel like I had enough passion for it to go for it. It’s so competitive and I would have to go to a rather cut-throat lifestyle, I wasn’t committed enough to make that sort of leap. My mom thought I should finish the application to Gordon that I started back in the spring, and I was pretty much like, “well, I have no other idea where to go at this point….why not!”

A few weeks later we were going to Gordon for homecoming (both my mother and sister are alumna.) I had an interview, met with various people across campus, and got the ball rolling for an increasing possibility of me attending in the spring. As I went through the admissions process, this prospect became more of a reality.

The Wednesday before Thanksgiving I got accepted to Gordon College! We were up in that area for Thanksgiving, so I handed them my deposit the following Monday. I am officially attending in January.

At this point I am entering undecided, but I am thinking of doing some sort of interdisciplinary studies major focusing towards project management/ administration. I would like a major that could translate to many different fields, and this plays towards my leadership abilities very well. I am also looking into getting a Bible minor.

I have learned that making plans is a rather foolish thing to do, so I am going in with an open mind. In the meantime, I will continue to work at the local grocery store with rather interesting characters.

Let me know if you have any questions or comments about my next step!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope”
Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

